Chronologically Challenged; Day 7, why I am the Wowgeek.

Ahh, day 7 of Saga’s WoW blogging challenge.  It seems as though I only just completed day 6…

As long as I can remember, I have identified myself as a geek.  I wear the title like a badge of honor.  I recall one day in middle school being verbally accosted by some would-be bully, who called me a nerd.  I corrected him, and told him I most certainly wasn’t a nerd, but was proud to be a geek.  That seemed to take all of the wind out of his sails, and I found my latent super-power.  My first encounter with geekdom was seeing Star Wars at the tender age of 6 in the theaters.  This was the real one, you know, fat lasers and Han shooting first.  I was done for from that day on.

I have many geek hats.  My first, and still one of my favorites, despite everything George Lucas did to absolutely kill the franchise, was Star Wars.  I was so over the moon with the original trilogy that to this day, many of my friends automatically associate anything Star Wars with me.  I got so many texts after the Star Wars kid Volkswagon commercial during this year’s superbowl I thought my phone was going to explode.  An old band mate of mine had the Imperial March on his phone as my ringer.  And I am waiting on the Bioware Star Wars MMO much like a fat kid would press their face up against a bakery window in anticipation of some icing-laden baked goodie.

There are  many other things I geek about, from music, food, and technology in general.  But closest to Star Wars in my heart, there is WoW.  I love this game in all its aspects.  The lore is captivating, the game-play still continues to innovate, and the friends I have met both in and out of Azeroth through this incredible world, all of these make WoW special to me.

When I “geek” about something, it means that I enjoy it so much that I consider it to be a part of me, a facet of who I am, and what I stand for.  I have gotten a great deal of pleasure out of this world, both in game and out.  And when I enjoy something this much, I tend to want to share it with anyone else who will listen.  And that, my friends, is why I give you the rantings of a WoW geek.

 

Happy Gaming!

 

Oz

Leave a comment